♫ Song No. 1 – Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now

So I’ve been meaning to post for a couple of days now, but I’ve been busy with life and all that.

I’m disappointed that I still didn’t manage to write a poem although this blog was meant to get me back to writing. But, I really don’t want to neglect this blog just because I can’t write…yet. So, I’ve decided it’s time to post Song of the Week (as the title obviously says).

The song I’m going to introduce in this post is by a band which my boyfriend and I are honoring this month. And by honoring, I mean setting their images as our Profile Pictures/Cover Photos on Facebook. Anywho. I’m not sure if many of you people are familiar with this band, but this does not eliminate the fact that they are absolutely amazing.

Without any further talking, I present to you:

Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now (1984) by The Smiths
Album: [1995] “Singles”


The Smiths. Left to Right
Mike JoyceJohnny MarrMorrisseyAndy Rourke.

Background:

The Smiths were an English band who performed alternative rock music. The band was formed in Manchester in 1982. With their skills combined—Morrissey [vocals], Johnny Marr [guitar], Mike Joyce [drums], and Andy Rourke [bass]—they were considered as one of the greatest and most significant English alternative rock bands in the 1980s. The band only lasted for five years – they broke up in 1987 after recording four studio albums and several non-LP singles, as well as collections of their earlier work. There had been many offers that required for the band members to reunite again, but they were all turned down.

“Singles”  is a collection or compilation album by The Smiths which was released in February 1995 by Sire Records in the United States of America.


“Singles” album cover, featuring Morrissey’s
earlier design though unused before. In the picture:
Stars singer and actress Diana Dors in a still from
Yield to the Night [1956] 

The song, Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now , is actually one of my favorite songs by The Smiths and generally one of my favorite songs of all time. It happens to be the first song I listened to by the band as well. This song had reached #10 on the UK Single Charts in June 1984 before it got included in Hatful of Hollow, which was also a compilation album. It was also listed as one of the songs that shaped Rock and Roll among the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 500 chosen songs. The song’s title was inspired by Sandie Shaw’s Heaven Knows I’m Missing Him Now.

The song was performed by the band on Channel 4’s Earsay  on March 31, 1984 where there was a mixed footage between the band playing music in a recording studio and between Morrissey walking around some kind of wasteland  in Manchester while carrying a  bouquet of gladioli flowers in one hand and the other hand is in the back pockets of his pants.

[https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TaUUYV7wKos]

Lyrics:

I was happy in the haze of a drunken hour
but heaven knows I’m miserable now
I was looking for a job, and then I found a job
and heaven knows I’m miserable now

In my life
why do I give valuable time
to people who don’t care if I live or die

Two lovers entwined pass me by
and heaven knows I’m miserable now
I was looking for a job, and then I found a job
and heaven knows I’m miserable now

In my life
why do I give valuable time
to people who don’t care if I live or die

What she asked of me at the end of the day
Caligula would have blushed
“You’ve been the house too long” she said
and I naturally fled

In my life
why do I smile
at people who I’d much rather kick in the eye

I was happy in the haze of a drunken hour
but heaven knows I’m miserable now
“You’ve been the house too long” she said
and I naturally fled

In my life
why do I give valuable time
to people who don’t care if I live or die

~ by Núr on July 6, 2012.

2 Responses to “♫ Song No. 1 – Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now”

  1. i love this song :3 especially when my girlfriend sings it over and over and over again when i’m playing it in the car.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

 
