♫ Song No. 2 – Mr. Writer

Yay. Second week. Still going strong.

This week’s song is a song that I got addicted to along with last week’s song, Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now. My boyfriend has also grown fond of this song more lately. So, I thought to myself, why not share it with the world?

I’m not sure how many of you are going to be familiar with the song and/or the band. But oh well, I can’t blame you. Justin Bieber, Rebecca Black, and all other Disney “singers” have taken over the music world and turned it into some kinda wasteland. Oh, and speaking of Disney’s stars – isn’t it weird that they can all double as actors/actresses and singers? Huh. Anyhoo.

Without further ado. This week’s song is:

Mr. Writer by Stereophonics
Album: [2001] J.E.E.P. (Just Enough Education to Perform)

Kelly Jones, Adam Zindani, Javier Weyler, Richard Jones.

Stereophonics are a rock band from Wales that was formed in 1992 in Cwmaman, Cynon Valley – Wales. The band members are: Kelly Jones [vocals and guitar], Richard Jones [backing vocals and bass], Richard Jones [drums], and Adam Zindani [backing vocals and guitar], along with the touring member Tony Kirkham [keyboards]. The band originally included the drummer, Stuart Cable, as well.

Stereophonics managed to release seven studio albums, in which five of them have topped the UK Album Charts.

J.E.E.P. Album Art

One of the band’s famous singles – and the first by them – that reached #5 in the UK charts is Mr. Writer. This single was released in March 2001 and is track no. 3 on the album, J.E.E.P. (Just Enough Education to Perform).

The story behind this song is that it is originally considered as a response directed to a journalist who had toured with the band and later on gave them negative reviews on their music. This song caused the band to have an uncomfortable relationship with the media.

Lyrics:

You line them up
look at your shoes
you hang names on your wall
then you shoot them allYou fly around in planes
that bring you down
to meet me who loves you, like
me crashing to the ground

Are you so lonely?
don’t even know me
but you’d like to stone me

Mr. Writer, why don’t you tell it like it is?
why don’t you tell it like it really is?
before you go on home

I used to treat you right
give you my time
but when I’d turn my back on you
then you do what you do

You’ve just enough, in my own view
education to perform
I’d like to shoot you all
and then you go home
with you on your own
what do you really know?

Mr. Writer, why don’t you tell it like it is?
why don’t you tell it like it really is?
before you go on home

And then you go home
with you on your own
what do you even know?

Mr. Writer, why don’t you tell it like it is?
why don’t you tell it like it really is?
before you go on home

Mr. Writer, why don’t you tell it like it is?
why don’t you tell it like it always is?
before you go on homeMr. Writer, why don’t you tell it like it really is?
why don’t you tell it like it always is?
before you go on home

~ by Núr on July 15, 2012.

3 Responses to “♫ Song No. 2 – Mr. Writer”

  1. I absolutely love this song. Stereophonics ftw \m/.

    Like

  2. i love it. can’t wait to play it in my car tomorrow with youuuu <3333

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

 
