♦ Poem No. IV ~ My Bohemian Life (.Fantasy)

Hullo there, people who are actually following my blog and reading my posts. *smiles and waves at the crowd*

I like this section because I believe – as it is a fact – that reading helps a person write and be more creative. Before, I thought that reading limits creativity because no matter how much you’d try to stay away from copying the author’s ideas, you’ll definitely be influenced by their style or themes, etc. That’s why I stayed away from reading and eventually fell into a slump a couple of times.

I may sound as such an avid reader, but I’m not, really. I’m only reading occasionally for the sake of writing in my blog. So this is the main blog’s goal being fulfilled here.

Anyway. This week. Arthur Rimbaud. Awesome stuff.

Jan Nicolas Arthur Rimbaud, the French poet and part of the decadent movement, was born on October 20, 1854 in Charleville, Ardennes in France.

He was described as “an infant Shakespeare” by Victor Hugo—he gave up on creative writing all together before the age of 20 after publishing his work in his later teens.

Rimbaud influenced modern literature, art, music, and prefigured surrealism. He was well-known to have been a libertine and a restless soul, traveling extensively on three continents before his death from cancer just after his 37th birthday.

Arthur Rimbaud at the age of 17
by Étienne Carjat [December 1871]

Presenting:

My Bohemian Life (.Fantasy)

I went off with my hands in my torn coat pockets;
my overcoat too was becoming ideal;
I traveled beneath the sky, Muse! and I was your vassal;
oh dear me! what marvellous loves I dreamed of!

My only pair of breeches had a big whole in them.
– Stargazing Tom Thumb, I sowed rhymes along my way.
My tavern was at the Sign of the Great Bear.
– My stars in the sky rustled softly.

And I listened to them, sitting on the road-sides
on those pleasant September evenings while I felt drops
of dew on my forehead like vigorous wine;

and while, rhyming among the fantastical shadows,
I plucked like the strings of a lyre the elastics
of my tattered boots, one foot close to my heart!

~ by Núr on August 13, 2012.

Share Your Thoughts

 
