§ Cinema 16 No. 2 [Return of the Fish-Memoriated Girl] ~ L’homme Sans Tete

Hello there. This post is officially the potion that will revive my baby-blog. I’m done with procrastination. It’s been eating me up. It took me a while, not to realize that, but to finally decide to act against it. I’ve been on vacation for a few weeks now. Therefore, no more laziness for me from now on. What kind of depressed me when I once decided to revive this blog a while ago is that I lost more than half of my followers. I felt that if I start posting again, it will be like talking to a virtual wall, or something like that. Another reason is that I screwed up my backspace [long story involving my cat constantly sleeping on my laptop keyboard and being under pressure due to uni projects about a month ago -___-], and now I try to avoid making spelling mistakes and what not.

Anyhoo, this week’s cinema 16 is a very touching and inspiring French short movie named L’homme Sans Tete (The Man Without a Head) for the great director, Juan Solanas, son of Fernando Solanas. It is, without a doubt, one of the most beautiful short films I have ever watched. The first time I watched it, there were English subtitles displayed at the bottom of the screen. I didn’t care much for them, though. The emotions and actions of the character are very honest and he’s a very transparent in an elegant way.

Some people feel uncomfortable – perhaps – in connecting and relating to a character who has no head and just walks around as though it is a very normal thing, especially that facial expressions are rather important in order to grasp emotions. But obviously the character pulled it off very well.

It is also obvious how subtle the choice of the music, the camera angles, and the color filters are; for they help a lot in setting the general mood and the contrast between the character in terms of his light-heart-ed-self and his surrounding atmosphere.

When the set is moved from his house to the store where his journey to find a suitable face starts, we notice the rich colors, the mirrors, and the emotions of the character upon trying on different heads/faces. Though, what is surprising his that he was only satisfied when he put on the black head even though it didn’t match the color of his whit skin. And again, this is a very smart way to deliver a message against discrimination.

Questioning racial discrimination is not what’s only brought up in this film. It leaves you pondering and thinking about the meaning of true love, the definition of happiness, how to stick true to your personality and not fake yourself to satisfy other people when you should be satisfying your own being.

I hope this didn’t spoil the film for you. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did and always do.

~ by Núr on July 25, 2013.

One Response to “§ Cinema 16 No. 2 [Return of the Fish-Memoriated Girl] ~ L’homme Sans Tete”

  1. this is great! i love this movie and you are right, it’s really inspiring

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

 
