♦ Poem No. VI ~ In a Station of the Metro

Ezra Pound [October 30, 1885 – November 1, 1972]

On a cold night around February, when everyone was asleep, I was in my bed with tons of papers and a notebook or two scattered over the sheets. I was trying to write a poem, but I just couldn’t find anything to write about. After two hours of scribblings and little drawings here and there, I decided to get out my English Literature book and just flip through the pages. I stumbled upon this poem by Ezra Pound. I was curious to read its background.

In this poem, Ezra Pound tackles one image in which he describes a scene before him after getting off the train in a metro station in Paris called La Concorde back in 1912. He first wrote a thirty-line poem about it. He wasn’t satisfied though. He then gave it a shot six months later and wrote another one. It still wasn’t the poem he was seeking. Pound found the beauty of the poem shouldn’t be in describing the individuals’ faces, but rather replace it with an “equation”. So, a year later, he wrote this poem:

In a Station of the Metro

The apparition of these faces in the crowd;
petals on a wet, black bough.
— Ezra Pound

~ by Núr on August 25, 2013.

2 Responses to “♦ Poem No. VI ~ In a Station of the Metro”

  1. Ezra Pound is one of my favourite poets, I even named my son after him. I am delighted to discover your site and I’m drawn to your pensive, atmospheric writing. I’m also hugely influenced by Art – Klimt has been a favourite of mine for decades and I’m slowly writing poems for each of his paintings.

    Like

    • The name Ezra is an attractive name.

      Gustave Klimt is definitely one of my favorite artists as well. I’ve seen a set of photos by a photographer whom I seem to have lost the name of; these photos are a replica of Klimt’s paintings, the same backgrounds and everything, but the difference is that instead of the painted figures, there are real people mimicking positions and all that.

      Many thanks to you and your comment is highly appreciated. I apologize that I haven’t been posting much, but as I have may mentioned before in one of my posts, I’ve been busy with real life things especially that uni is about to start in a week or so.

      Again, thank you so much for visiting my humble blog. Hopefully I will always keep providing you, along with all my followers and viewers, with decent material that fits your preferences. <3

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

 
